Edna and the Fireman

A few weeks ago I had yet another birthday. It seems that these are coming around faster and faster every year. This year it happened to fall on a Saturday, which is a day I usually sleep in if at all possible and I will do just about anything to make sleeping in possible. I happen to be part vampire on my Mothers side. Anyway,  when I got up and started the trudge downstairs to the coffee pot, I looked out the window (the entire south end of the house is windows)  into the back yard as I do every morning. Most mornings the view is pretty dark since I still have to get up and go to stupid work. This particular morning the view was a bit different than normal. First of all it was daylight! Then imagine my surprise to see that we had been invaded by flamingos during the night!

Ok I have to confess, this particular pic is not the back yard. That picture is missing at this very moment. This is a picture of the flamingos milling about the sideish (the front of the house actually faces the side of the property) yard. So who the hell is Edna you’re asking – well, Edna is the slightly cranky and difficult one in the middle with with her back to you. Edna does not like to be moved all over the damn yard and everytime you pick her up she sheds at least one, usually both legs. She’s very bossy and will just kick her legs off anytime you grab her and try to make her move so you don’t run her silly ass over with the lawn mower. Sigh, I had no idea flamingos could be so childish. These 24 flamingos are in addition to the 2 in the back yard under the metal birdhouse tree, the skeleton one that lives in a flowerbed, oh, and the 3 or 4 other ones lurking about the property. As soon as the spillway drys up a little more, I think they’ll live over by the river for a while.  If you think this is crazy, you should’ve seen what we did when we had a flock of around 3o pottery/fiber sheep…Now that was fun!

Today is the annual spagetti dinner for my tiny (very, very, tiny) hometown fire department. As part of the festivities they hold a raffle of sorts. This year they have around 150 items that will be raffled off. They sell tickets and you place it in the lunch sack in front of the item that you’re hoping to win. I decided that since I’m still in the doll making mood, I’d make a firefighter all dressed up in his turnout gear. First I made a generic doll like most of the ones I’ve been doing lately. This gives me a blank “canvas” to build on. This guy is wearing a pair of jeans and t-shirt made from real jeans and t-shirt that were in the stash. His turnout gear is made from my old spring coat and some dollar store ribbon that was EXACTLY the color I needed. I’ve had the coat that I cannabilized  for around 15 years and decided that if I didn’t cut it up and use it for something else, I’d never get rid of it. I hate clothes shopping and would never do it if at all possible. Anyway, he is as detailed as I could make him. He has hair, boots, bunker pants, red suspenders, his turnout coat, and a helmet that was a huge pain in the ass to make. I had to make a couple of versions of the helmet before I was happy. Everything, with the exception of the insignia on his helmet was made by my hands. The stand was made by my hubby. I came up with a slightly different way of displaying a doll on a stand without having to have that damn ring around the waist that really takes away from the outfit. This is the fireman I made with love to honor my dad, brothers, nephew, uncle, and all active and retired firefighters:

This isn’t the pictue that I was going to post, but I can’t find the one I wanted. I seem to be quite photo challenged lately… I will post better picture when I find them because I am quite proud of this guy and this really doesn’t do him justice.  I hope he makes a lot of money for the firefighters.

Just wait till I tell you about the 12 hour(!) craft day I had with Little Orphan Skein. It was at the local cancer center, of which I am quite fond, since I’ve spent many, many, many hours hanging around while my Mom was getting her chemo. What a long but fun day and I may (fingers crossed) have picked up a commission!  More on that soon…

4 Comments

  1. mary i said,

    May 12, 2012 at 4:44 PM

    I just love your pink flamingos!!! My other half won’t let me have any…( he does not get that “side” of me.. Edna needs to be taught a lesson. Great job on Fire Fighter Man. Let us know how much he helped. I will cross my fingers also….. 🙂

    • May 12, 2012 at 11:23 PM

      I will be the first to admit that my hubby indulges most of my whims, but since we have the same sense of humor, it’s really not too hard to convince him to do just about anything. The huge flock was his idea though…

  2. Shell said,

    May 12, 2012 at 9:38 PM

    The fireman turned out so good. I hope it went to a good home.

    Edna and her flamingo family are hilarious. They fit in your yard perfectly!

    • May 16, 2012 at 4:09 PM

      The fireman actually went to my little brother (who is 50 yrs old!) I was as shocked as he was when he won! I am happy that it’s staying in the family.


Leave a Reply

